Who We Are

The Society for the Psychological Study of Men and Masculinity, Division 51 of the American Psychological Association, advances knowledge in the psychology of men through research, education, training, public policy, and improved clinical practice.

Division 51 believes aspects of traditional gender roles are restrictive in nature and often lead to negative consequences and unhealthy interactions for many individuals and society. SPSMM endeavors to point out constrictive conceptions of masculinity that have inhibited men’s development, reduced men’s capacity to form meaningful relationships, and contributed to the oppression of others. SPSMM supports the empowerment of all persons and believes this empowerment leads to the highest level of functioning in individual men and women.

Mission Statement

The Society for the Psychological Study of Men and Masculinity:

  • Promotes the critical study of how gender shapes and constricts men’s lives.
  • Committed to an enhancement of men’s capacity to experience their full human potential.
  • Endeavors to erode constraining definitions of masculinity which historically have inhibited men’s development, their capacity to form meaningful relationships, and have contributed to the oppression of other people.
  • Acknowledges its historical debt to feminist-inspired scholarship on gender, and commits itself to the support of groups such as women, gays, lesbians and people of color that have been uniquely oppressed by the gender/class/race system.
  • Contends vigorously that the empowerment of all persons beyond narrow and restrictive gender role definitions leads to the highest level of functioning in individual women and men, to the most healthy interactions between the genders, and to the richest relationships between them.


For a brief History of SPSMM, click here.

For a copy of our Bylaws, click here..

Elected Officers

(terms start January 1 and end December 31)


Dr. Edward Adams (2018 President) adams397@comcast.net

Dr. William Elder (Member at Large – Sexual and Gender Minority Slate) William.Elder2@va.gov

Dr. Victor Frazao (Council Representative) DrFrazao@aol.com

Dr. Garrett Goodridge (Member at Large – open slate)

Dr. Shalena Heard (Member at Large –  racial/ethnic minorities slate) dr.slheard@gmail.com

Dr. Judith Logue (Member at Large -women’s slate) judith@judithlogue.com

Dr. Ryan McKelley (2019 President Elect) rmckelley@uwlax.edu

Dr. Michael Parent (Secretary) michael.parent@austin.utexas.edu

Thomas Parkman (Member at Large –student slatethomas.parkman@ttu.edu

Dr. Randa Remer-Eskridge (Treasurer) randa.remer-eskridge@uky.edu

Dr. Holly Sweet (2017-Past President) hbsweet@comcast.net

Dr. Matthew Syzdek (Member at Large – early career professionals slate) matthewsyzdek@gmail.com


Chairs of Committees

Dr. Brian Cole (Co-chair, Membership and Recruitment Committee) bpcole@gmail.com

Dr. Michele Harway (Finance Committee) mharway@roadrunner.com

Dr. Paul Ingram (Co-chair, Programming Committee) pbingram@gmail.com

Dr. Mark Kiselica (Fellows Committee) markkiselica@outlook.com

Dr. Ronald  Levant (Division 51 Advisory Committee) levant@uakron.edu

Dr. William Liu (Publications Committee) william-liu@uiowa.edu

Dr. Michael Parent (Co-chair, Programming Committee) michael.parent@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Ryan McKelley (Nominations and Elections Committee) rmckelley@uwlax.edu

Dr. David Shen-Miller (Publications Committee)

Dr. Daniel Singley (Co-chair, Membership and Recruitment Committee) singley@menexcel.com

Dr. Holly Sweet (Awards Committee) hbsweet@comcast.net


List serve moderator

Dr. Gerry Crete (gerrycrete@gmail.com)


Journal editor

Dr. William Liu (william-liu@uiowa.edu)

Journal webpage


Social media and website team

Dr. Ryon McDermott (Communications and Media Director) rmcdermott@southalabama.edu

Tyler Bradstreet (Head, Social Media) tyler.bradstreet@ttu.edu


Representatives to APA coalitions and consortiums

Dr. Shalena Heard (Representative for APA interdivisional coalition for Psychology in Schools) dr.slheard@gmail.com

Dr. Christopher  Liang (Representative for social justice division consortium)



Heads of Special Interest Groups

For contact information and to learn more about each Special Interest group, click here.

Dr. Jon Davies (Clinical Practice)

Dr. Will Elder (Sexual and Gender Minorities)

Dr. Shalena Heard (Racial and Ethnic Minorities)

Dr. Zachary Isoma (Co-chair, Violence and Trauma)

Thomas Parkman (Students)

Dr. Christopher Reigeluth (Co-chair, Violence and Trauma)

Dr. Holly Sweet (Mentoring)


Conveners, Division 51 Task Forces for Strategic Planning

Dr. Edward Adams (Task Force 4:  Outreach to the public about men’s issues)

Dr. William Elder (Task Force 2: Diversity)

Dr. Daniel Singley (Task Force 1:  Membership)

Dr. Holly Sweet (Task Force 3:  Outreach to APA divisions and outside organizations involved with the psychology of men and masculinities)

Dr. David Whitcomb (Task Force 5:  Division governance)